Parliament, Friday, 16 September 2022 – The Portfolio Committee on Transport today adopted reports on the National Road Traffic Amendment Bill [B7–2020]. This Bill was referred to it and classified by the Joint Tagging Mechanism (JTM) as a section 76 Bill with amendments [B7A–2020]. The Bill was referred to the Committee on 29 May 2020.

The Bill proposes several amendments to the existing Act, some of which include: more strict registration and regulation of manufacturers, builders, body builders, importers and manufacturers of number plates, including manufacturers of reflective sheeting for number plates, suppliers of blank number plates, suppliers of reflective sheeting for number plates, embossers of number plates, weighbridge facilities, manufacturers of microdots, suppliers of microdots and microdot fitment centres; and the registration and grading of driving schools.

Following engagements on the Bill and consideration of the proposed amendments as received from stakeholders, various amendments are proposed by the committee, as contained in its report on the Bill. The committee received oral submissions from stakeholders, including the Congress of South African Trade Unions; Alta Swanepoel and Associates; Automobile Association of South Africa; South African Alcohol Policy Alliance; South African Medical Research Council: Alcohol, Tobacco and other drug research unit; South African Driving Schools Operators Association; National Organisation of Driving Schools; South African Number Plate Association; Stellenbosch Wine Routes; AGBIZ; New Number Plate Requisites; South African Liquor Brand Owners Association (SALBA); Vinpro; Justice Project South Africa; Southern African Catholic Bishops’ Conference; Sakeliga; South Africans Against Drunk Driving; and South African Insurance Association.

The committee also adopted a report on the Economic Regulation of Transport Bill [B1 – 2020] (National Assembly – sec 76), which was referred to the committee on 31 January 2020. The Bill aims, among other things, to consolidate the economic regulation of transport within a single framework and policy; to establish the Transport Economic Regulator; to establish the Transport Economic Council; to make consequential amendments to various other Acts; and to provide for related incidental matters.

Calls for comment on the Bill were published in two rounds to allow for greater participation on the Bill. The stakeholders who made submissions include Uber; Bolt; Western Cape Department of Transport and Public Works; City of Cape Town: MMC for Transport; Gautrain Management Agency; Transnet; SASOL; regulating committee for Airports Company and Air Traffic and Navigation Services Company; South African Association of Ship Operators and Agents (SAASOA); Sakeliga; the Minerals Council South Africa; Traxion Sheltam; RailRoad Association of South Africa; OUTA, Ports Regulator of South Africa; Board of Airline Representatives of South Africa; International Air Transport Association: South and East Africa; Airlines Association of Southern Africa; and Nick Poree and Associated. The committee also received several submissions from individuals.


For media enquiries or interviews with the Chairperson, please contact the committee’s Media Officer:

Name: Mava Lukani (Mr)

Parliamentary Communication Services

Cell: 081 503 1840